Veggies all cut up and ready to roast

All Cut Up and Ready to Roast

I have been craving roasted vegetables lately. Roasting veggies with olive oil is one of my favorite things to do on a chilly winter night. The days have been unseasonably warm for wintertime these past few weeks, but evenings are still pretty cold, so I knew dinner wouldn’t be too heavy for the weather. I chopped up butternut squash, rainbow carrots (yellow, orange, and purple), a variety of fingerling potatoes (gold, red, purple, and orange), and golden beets. I tossed them with olive oil and a little butter, salt and pepper, and some rosemary and roasted at 375°F for about 45 minutes.

Kale

Gorgeous Kale

I also had some beautiful purple kale; it looks almost like a bunch of flowers–almost too pretty to eat. I was actually looking to get green kale, like I usually do, but all of the green kale in the supermarket looked really icky and wilted, while the purple kale was just gorgeous. So I decided to try something new. I braised about half the bunch I bought in butter and veggie broth, and seasoned it with salt and pepper. I’m going to use the rest to make kale chips, one of my other favorite ways to cook kale. for the last touch of dinner, I cooked up some red quinoa in veggie broth then tossed all three together and voila:
Dinner!

Dinner!

Delicious. Paired with a white merlot, it hit the spot on this chilly evening.

