I had one of those incredibly productive and domestic kind of days today. First I headed out to the farmer’s market for the week’s shopping. Then we all put away all of the Christmas decorations, which took forever.

After all that work and hoopla, I decided we needed some dessert tonight, so I made the world’s easiest key lime pie ever.

Recipe:

1 14-oz can of sweetened condensed milk
3 egg yolks
1/2 c of key lime juice.

Mix these all together and then pour into a 9-inch graham cracker pie crust. Bake for 15 minutes at 350F. Let it sit at room temperature for 10 minutes, then put it in the refrigerator until ready to serve. Serve with whipped cream.

Dinner was shrimp tacos with black beans. I just cooked up some shrimp in a skillet with salt, pepper, chili powder, lemon juice, and lime juice. We ate the shrimp with fresh cabbage and mango salsa on corn tortillas. The black beans were easy–just heat a can heated on the stove with some salt and pepper. Yummy and easy.

I didn’t any take any pictures of dinner or dessert though; I was too busy.

Other things I did today:

Finished and blocked my socks
Cast on some matching wristlets of the leftover yarn from the blackrose socks
Laundry
Cleaned my bathroom
Made fried rice for tomorrow’s lunch.

Bento BoxFried rice is one of my favorite ways to use up leftovers. Day-old rice works best, so I usually only make it if we have leftover rice. It’s too much planning to make rice a day ahead. Tonight I used the leftover brown rice from the Chinese takeaway we had for dinner last night. I also used leftover veggies from last night, leftover cabbage from tonight’s dinner, leftover egg whites from the pie, and some carrots I bought today. I followed this basic recipe, but I only used egg whites instead of whole eggs, because that’s what I had. Then I packed them up in my bento box with some grapefruit slices, raspberries, and pomegranate seeds for lunch tomorrow.

The socks are blocking now, and once they’re dry, I’ll post pictures. I can’t wait to wear them.

