Love at First Sight!Last night I went to my knitting group for the first time in years. I’ve been doing tons of shows, so a Wednesday night where I don’t have rehearsal or something is rare. But last night I was free, so I headed out to the Stitch and Bitch. It’s really fun to sit around and talk about knitting and yarn with people. Because non-knitters really do not understand the obsession. It’s nice to know that some people don’t find it crazy to look at pictures of yarn online and to want to squish yarn and to have a knitting to-do list and to spend sometimes 30 dollars on a ball of yarn. (Admittedly, that is a splurge for me, but for some of the really lovely cashmeres and silks and mohairs, it is so completely worth it).

Speaking of expensive yarn, that is the dangerous part of this knitting group. The restaurant where we meet is right next door to an absolutely wonderful yarn shop. As I said before, I don’t usually buy really expensive yarns–I find a lot of perfectly good yarn for relatively little money online. But I can spend hours in a yarn shop, just browsing. And looking is dangerous. I, of course, walked out having spent more than I should have on some lovely Kidsilk Haze, a mohair-silk blend, and some Pediboo sock yarn, which is super soft and will make some great socks. There’s something so wonderfully satisfying about wandering around a knitting store and hunting for the perfect yarn. I can’t wait to make a pretty airy scarf out of the Kidsilk Haze.

My wristlets are progressing nicely as well. The knitting time last night really helped. (It’s easy to be super-productive when everyone is knitting around you.) I should finish one tonight and cast on for the second one.

Other than that, it’s been rehearsing for 42nd Street and prepping for two more auditions. I’m still trying to get over this icky cold, so I’m not super interesting lately. It’s nesting and knitting and not much else.

