Inspiring pinsSo Craftcation has left me with the desire, inspiration, and motivation to start my own crafty business. It’s something that has been in my head a while. I love crafting, I love hand-crafted items, why not give a go at something I love? But it’s such an overwhelming prospect that I never knew where to start. And now I feel like I do, so I’m going to give it a shot.

I’m always wary of talking about my goals. It’s a scary thing to put it out into the world that you want to accomplish something, because it makes it your process and your struggle very public. And, as a dear friend of mine always says “You can’t get better and look good at the same time.” It’s hard to look stupid/ignorant/silly in public. It’s one of my biggest struggles as an actor, because I don’t want to look stupid, so instead I am boring; and it’s just one of my biggest struggles in life.

To play down that possibility of public failure, I tend to talk about my goals like they don’t matter or like they are not a big deal. I tend to frame my progress and my successes like they don’t matter. I don’t want to be seen as boasting or thinking too much of myself. It’s a big problem for me, because I even talk about myself that way as an actor. “Oh, yeah, I’m in a show,” I say, “but it’s not a big deal. I’m not a very big part. I’m not very good.” And I talk about myself that way as a singer. “Yeah, I sing. I’m okay–there are people better than me. I just do a little thing with my friend, and we sing and play. It’s not a big deal, but we’re performing on Tuesday night.”

Yeah…that doesn’t really convince people to want to come see me act or sing, or to hire me to do those things. And I talk about the crafts I do and the things I make in the same way. Which, call me crazy, but I don’t think it’s going to convince people to buy my things if I can’t talk them up and make them sound great. And they are great. I’m good at what I do. I am a good actor, I am a good singer, and I make good things. Yes, everyone can always get better, but I am good as I am right now. So I can’t be afraid to really set goals, and to be honest about what I am doing. I can’t say I want something and that it doesn’t matter and it’s not very good in the same breath.

With that in mind, I am being brave and putting my goals out there, right now.

Within 3 months I will:
1. Intern with a business to gain skills I need in marketing, branding, etc.
2. Prototype at least three potential products
3. Read up on SEO and Etsy and web-selling and bookkeeping, so I feel prepared once I launch my store

Within 6 months I will:
1. Work a craft fair in someone’s booth so that I can get a handle the best way to do those things (if anyone wants some free labor for a fair, let me know!)
2. Prototype at least 2 additional potential products
3. Take a sewing class or two to improve those skills
4. Have my workspace organized

Within a year I will:
1. Have a business license, fictitious business name, and a business bank account
2. Have launched an Etsy shop and a website with my own domain name
3. Be selling stuff for realsies

So yeah, there they are. My goals, out in the world. With no negative self-talk included. And if anyone has any feedback, thinks I’m missing something, or desires to assist me, please let me know. And by the way, I have accomplished one of these goals already. I will be interning with Steph Cortes of NerdJerk, serving as her social media and marketing intern. It’s gonna be awesome!

