I blocked the pink clouds shawl and now I consider it all done. I’m pretty happy with how it turned out. I mean, I’m not 100% happy with it, because I’m a huge damn perfectionist. I wish it was longer, but that’s mostly an issue of I did not have enough yarn. I think I should have bought three balls of yarn. But it’s really nice and soft and I just love the pattern. I would definitely knit it again. Blocking really opens up the stitches beautifully. Since it was knit on such big needles and it’s such fine yarn that the stitches seemed really loose and floppy before blocking. Blocking is kind of magic that way; it adds a really lovely structure to knit pieces, evens out the stitches, and makes the lace look so much better.

Blocking a shawl

Who has two thumbs and needs more blocking mats? Me!

I spent a good couple of hours on Sunday night hand-washing, gently squeezing out as much of the water as I could, and then I pinned that shawl to within an inch of its life. I use nickle-plated, rust-free (very important!) pins, and blocking mats from Knitpicks. Unfortunately, I only have one set of mats, and the project was a little to big for that, so I had to improvise with some foam I had in the garage. I never thought I would miss wall to wall carpet, but I used to block on a thin blanket on the carpet and pin through the carpet. This doesn’t really work on hardwood floors. Then I let it dry completely. This can take up to a few days with heavier stuff. This one was really dry in about a day, but I didn’t have time to unpin it until last night, because I’ve been super busy.

And like magic, it made me much happier with how the lace looks. You can see it below (click on the pictures to enlarge):

Unblocked Shawl

Unblocked Shawl

Blocked Shawl

After Blocking















So it’s done! Since the weather is really pretty today, I took it outside for a photo shoot.

Pink Clouds Shawl

Pink Clouds Shawl

