I’ve recently become obsessed with baking little cakes in Mason Jars. I think it is the cutest thing ever. So when we had a bake sale at work to benefit the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society, I decided that one of the things I was going to make was something in a jar. I had rehearsal for Titanic though, so I knew I wouldn’t have time to do much that was time consuming. So I settled on no-bake Oreo cheesecakes. That’s more full of processed stuff than things I normally make, but time was not on my side. They turned out super cute, and delicious, so I was happy with them. The recipe was really easy too. Just mix together some cream cheese, whipped cream, sugar, and chopped up Oreos, put into jars, top with more crushed/chopped Oreos and chill. Completely delicious and totally cute individual servings of no-bake Oreo cheesecake.

Behold my adorable sweetness

Lemon Blueberry CookiesI also wanted to make something smaller and cheaper, so we could sell more of them, because the cheesecakes were a little more expensive. So I decided on cookies. It’s only April, but the weather has been mostly warm and summery (except for a little bit of rain on Tuesday night), so I was already feeling like berries were the way to go. Plus I prefer baking with berry and citrus flavors over anything else. After getting a really good batch of blueberries at the market, I decided to make lemon blueberry cookies. They turned out really well. They were really light and cakey, and not too sweet, with a delicious hint of citrus that really offset the blueberry well. They also had almond extract in them (instead of the usual vanilla extract), which added another level of flavor to them.

I haven’t baked in so long, it was so great to do it again. Someone give me an excuse to bake again, but not until after Titanic is over, so I have time to do it justice and don’t have to be up at 1 am doing it after rehearsal (like I had to with the cookies). Although, for me, baking > sleep any day.

