Guiness Chocolate CupcakesSo it was my knitting guild’s birthday month, which meant that we have potluck for our meeting. I decided to make Guinness Chocolate Cupcakes with Bailey’s Irish Cream Cheese frosting as my treat. I used this recipe for the cupcakes. They turned out really well, very dense and chocolatey and people at the meeting really liked them. I would change one thing about the recipe next time though. I would probably add the sugar to eggs/sour cream/beer mixture, and then add rest of the dry ingredients. I feel like it might give a better texture. Maybe not though. It’s something I’d like to try.

I can’t stand butter cream frosting, so I decided to make cream cheese icing instead of using the icing on the website.

My standard cream cheese icing is really easy. I just take 8 ounces of cream cheese and beat it until it’s soft and creamy. Then I add powdered sugar to the appropriate taste and consistency. I also beat in 2 to 5 tablespoons for flavoring. I usually use vanilla extract for a standard icing, but I’ve used other extracts such as almond or lemon, lime juice, and, in this case, Bailey’s Irish Cream. You can add to taste, but the more liquid you use, the more sugar you’ll have to add to thicken the icing. That’s why, for colored frosting, I recommend using gel food colorings or powdered ones, instead of the liquid ones. I’ve found gel ones in the supermarket and the powdered ones are available at Jo-Ann’s craft stores (and probably anywhere that sells Wilton supplies).

You can also add solids to your icing such as cocoa powder for chocolate icing, citrus zest, or grated ginger for flavoring.

I don’t like my icing too sweet, so I don’t use too much sugar. But that does leave the icing fairly thin; if you want to pipe it you will have to use more sugar. I don’t have much of a sweet tooth (okay, that’s a lie, but for some reason super sweet icing doesn’t sit well with me), so I usually don’t make frosting that’s thick enough to pipe. I also am pretty terrible at cake decorating, although at some point I want to learn. Maybe then I’ll have some use for that really thick, sweet icing.

