Image belongs to TKGA, not meA few weeks ago, I signed up for Level 1 of the Master Knitter’s program. If you’re not familiar with the program, it’s a program run through The Knitting Guild Association. It involves three levels; in each level you must submit samples of certain techniques per their instructions and you must do one or more projects and you must do research and write reports on certain topics. You send the samples to the guild and they critique them and sometimes (usually) you have to re-do some things, but eventually you can become a “Master Knitter.”

It is highly self-directed, which I really like. I think it will make me a better knitter, because I will have to figure out how to improve my technique such that I can meet their standards. I was really excited about it when I signed up, because I’m super nerdy and like reading knitting technique books.

I got the instructions and then I started looking at some forums online for people in the program, and instead of excitement, I started feeling dread. I have so many problems with my knitting. All of a sudden, I feel like I will never even pass the first level.

This program is KILLING my knitting mojo, and I haven’t even started a single swatch. I now look at everything through the eyes of “How would this look to the Master Knitter judges?” My selvedges are sloppy, I hate my bind offs (except on lace-work for some reason), I have spots of uneven gauge (which will probably block out–but what if they don’t).

I can’t even look at my sweater, because I’m at a point where I have to do some seaming and I can’t stand how my seaming looks.

The only thing I’ve managed to knit in the past couple of weeks are scarves for a charity project. I’m knitting them in garter stitch out of eyelash yarn (which hides so many sins). What do you do when you love knitting, but you start to feel like your own knitting is all crap?

