My lovely pink handspun yarnI’m really pleased with how my handspun yarn turned out after my Kool-Aid dying. It’s a really pretty pink. I’m totally in love with the variegated look that it has (which I did intentionally). I actually had wanted to do a pink/blue variegation, but my supermarket had no blue Kool-Aid. It did have two flavors of cherry (black cherry and regular cherry), plus strawberry, pink lemonade, and tropical punch. To be clear, that is five varying shades of reds/pinks, and no blue. I distinctly remember blue Kool-Aid in my childhood; I don’t know if it was discontinued or if my supermarket just sucks. But since my blue plan was thwarted, I got black cherry, strawberry, and pink lemonade to create the pinky/red yarn you see here. I’m thinking that it might knit up into a really fun headband. I think I want a button closure, with a really fabulous button as embellishment. I’m actually really excited to be knitting with my first handspun yarn, as absolutely nerdy as that is. I don’t care. I revel in the nerdiness.

100000 stitches down, only about 972 million stitches to go...To tell the truth, the idea of doing a small and simple instant gratification headband is nice. Because one of my projects is huge and it is going to take forever. I am working on the infamous Frost Flowers Stole out of Unique Sheep Marici Lace Yarn in the Sugar Baby colorway (which is a pink that transitions to spring green). It is going to be absolutely beautiful when it is done. But it is taking forever.

See, this pattern starts with the phrase “Cast on 992 stitches.” Nine hundred ninety two stitches. NINE HUNDRED NINETY TWO STITCHES. The ladies in my Wednesday night knitting group all laughed when they read it. Because, really? Who does that? Don’t get me wrong, it makes perfect sense in the context of the pattern, which is actually a brilliant and interesting construction, which ends with the knitting grafting about five hundred stitches in the center at the end (which also made my knitting group laugh, because again, who does that?)

But I am not intimidated. This shawl is gorgeous and I want it. I am not afraid of a long cast-on and huge stretches of Kitchener stitch! So I decided I would cast on in the car when the boy (hereafter known as Ron) and I drove up to my parents’ house for Thanksgiving. That did not work out so well, because even with stitch markers, I kept losing count, mostly because Ron needed someone to talk, so he could stay awake while driving. I had the same problem all Thanksgiving weekend–I have four brothers and sisters (well really five, but that is a long story for another day), a sister-in-law, a new nephew, a probable future brother-in-law, it’s noisy, we were playing games and talking and eating…the point being that I had no real time in quiet to cast on. It took all weekend just to cast on. But I did and I knit four whole rows on it once we got home. And then, that Sunday night, I made a fatal mistake, and had to rip the whole thing out and start over. And if that wasn’t bad enough, the yarn hopelessly tangled as I frogged it.

There was cursing and tears and I swore off knitting forever. And then I spent two days (!) untangling the mess that this beautiful laceweight silk yarn had become. I was so mad. Four days work down the drain, plus another two lost to that stupid tangle.

But I was undefeated. I untangled the yarn. I cast on again (this time, as I was not so distracted; it only took me three hours *lolsob*). And now I have about ten rows knit on the thing. I did make one mistake in row six that required me to unknit an entire row (of almost 1000 stitches) to fix (and then I was ready to give up completely), but since then, it’s been going okay. (And now that I’ve said that, I am prepared for a new disaster tonight). I’m just hoping I get it done in time for Stitches West, because that much work needs to be shown off to other knitters.

Pink MmmmmmmalabrigoSpeaking of Stitches West, I also hope to have a couple of sweaters done by the time I go. I still have my Wispy Cardi on the needles. It’s just waiting for me to block the sleeves so I can seam them, then I can pick up and knit the neck and the body. And then I have this lovely bag of dark pink Malabrigo that needs to be a sweater. I want a cabled hoodie. I was thinking of doing the Mariah sweater from Knitty. I’ve loved this sweater since I first saw it in Knitty, because I love the cabling on it. However, I don’t really want a zip-up hoodie, and there is no waist shaping. I could always add waist shaping (which is easy) and convert it to a button front (which is doable but a little more challenging). However, I have also heard about some pattern errata, so I’m torn. The other option I was looking at is the Twist Cardigan from Chicknits. I know the pattern is good and I really like it (and it has shaping and a button front), but I like the Mariah cables better. Hmmm….maybe I will see if I can Frankenstein them together into an unholy, but awesome hybrid sweater. Thoughts?

And just so you don’t think every single blessed thing I knit is pink (because there is a lot of pink happening in this entry right now), here is a hat I knit for the baby meatloaf. As you can see, it is greenish blue, and not pink, because the meatloaf is a manly baby. Honestly, I’m sure he wouldn’t care if he had a pink hat, but I had leftover yarn from my Edith socks and it just happens to be blues and greens, so I made him tiny socks and a matching hat, because knitting tiny things for babies is fun. (And yes, I stuck it on a ball of yarn to photograph it. We are running rather short of babies to use for modeling purpose at our house, so I make due with what I can.)

