New yarn should do it

I don’t want to complain but I have not seen the sun for three days. It’s gloomy when I go into work (I’m close enough to the ocean that mornings here are usually cloudy). It’s dark when I get off work. There are no windows where I work. I don’t mind not seeing the sun for days and days if it’s raining, but it bothers me when it’s because I’m trapped in a windowless building.

However, things are looking up.

1. It’s started to rain. This has vastly improved my outlook.

2. The new Knitty is out and I want to knit all the things! Well, all the sweaters. ALL THE SWEATERS. They are super lovely. I especially like the Ruth (because I am on a huge Aran kick right now), the Iðunn (because I’m all about yoke sweaters lately too), and the Kittiwake Cardigan. And Sivia Harding’s Mochi Mitts are so, so lovely. I don’t knit cowls, but I am drooling over the cable pattern on the Nennir Cowl.

I am totally intrigued by Franklin Habit’s Stitches in Time column and the contest that goes with it. Funnily enough, I’ve been having inspiration to design lately. I may have an idea for this contest. I don’t know that I’ll have time to execute it though. It may be more work than I can get done by the deadline.

3. I finished the sleeves on the baby sweater and got substantial knitting done on the secret gift project, so I feel like a productive and virtuous knitter.

4. My knitting group had our holiday party tonight, complete with a gift exchange. I got some gorgeous sock yarn (the lavender pictured above) from Knitter’s Brewing Company and a shawl pattern to go with it. The yarn is an alpaca/merino/tencel blend and it is so very soft. This, and the sangria I had there, did wonders for my mood.

Forget Love. Wine and yarn are apparently all you need.

