I was going to write today about how I was so tired and burned out yesterday from the long hours I’ve been working. I was going to write about the progress I’ve been making on my projects.

I was going to write about how I finally saw the sun today.

None of that feels right today. Instead I will say this:

My heart goes out to all of the families and friends who lost someone today. My heart goes out to all the children who were traumatized.

I try not to be political on this blog, but sometimes events are too large to ignore. So I have to say this. We need some kind of gun control in this country. There is no reason to allow someone to so easily murder so many. There is no excuse for it and anyone who argues that it is necessary for people to own assault rifles and semi-automatic guns, even at the expense of the lives of innocent people should be ashamed.

I don’t feel like debating this either, because this isn’t theoretical. There are at least 26 people dead because of the easily accessible guns in this country. Yes, a man decided to use the gun, but what if it had been much harder to get one?

My closing thought on the matter is this: When I first saw the news story about the shooting, my initial gut reaction was “Oh God, another one? Not again.” That is so, so, so very wrong. The fact that we’ve gotten to the point where mass shootings feel common scares me.

