So I took a page from the Yarn Harlot and Tuesday was for spinning.

Okay, no, Tuesday was for cursing. I just got my drop spindle. And despite the foul language I used Tuesday, it’s a very nice spindle. But wow, spinning on a drop spindle is much, much, much harder for me than wheel spinning. I am having so much trouble doing that much stuff with my hands. At least with wheel spinning my feet do some of the work. I destroyed a lot of fiber for very little yarn. And of course it’s all uneven.

I’m going to try weighting the spindle more; I think it’s a little light for me at the moment. It doesn’t stay spinning long and tends to backspin, which, according to my research, points to there not being enough weight on it for the thickness of yarn I am spinning. I’ll stick a couple of washers on it and see if that helps. Spinners out there, am I on the right track with this?

I’m also looking at maybe using it as a supported spindle instead of a drop spindle. It looks a little more intuitive to me. We’ll see. I have to experiment more. Even though right now my instinct is to chuck the whole thing because really? Why is it so difficult?

I also spent Tuesday picking out and re-seaming my sleeves on the Wispy Cardi, again. I’m still not 100% happy with it, but short of re-knitting the whole thing, there’s not much I can do because part of the issue is in my selvedges.

I didn’t write on Tuesday because between the spinning and the seaming, any blog entry I wrote would have looked like this: “*#$***! AJSKLD;JF;KALJSD;GKLJA[NVBJKNAKD;Jsdkl;nf;alklomnab[.” That’s how frustrated I was.

Last night, things were considerably happier, because I had knitting group. I got quite a bit of work done on my Frost Flowers. By quite a bit of work, I mean one whole row! Since my rows are like a million stitches long, that’s actually an accomplishment for three hours of social knitting. I’m actually not making horrible progress on this. I’m beginning to be mildly afraid that I will run out of yarn. No, screw it. I’m not even going to entertain that thought. I’ll burn that bridge when I get there. Plus I have a Plan B so it will be fine. (Famous last words!)

Something kind of cool also happened at knitting. It’s a huge complement to my knitting and I really needed that after feeling like such a talentless, non-spinning, non-finishing idiot on Tuesday night. I’m not going to say specifics right now, in case it doesn’t pan out. And if it doesn’t, it’s not a huge deal, I just don’t want to tell you all to watch for something that isn’t going to happen. But I’ll say eventually, I promise. Just know that it’s cool for me.

When I got home, I started picking up stitches for the neckband of my Wispy Cardi! And just in time, too. Ron and I are going up to see a Groundlings show with our friends John and Deb tonight. Since I’m not driving, it’s lots of car knitting time for me. And, since this is 1×1 rib at this point, I can do it in the dark. I was totally out of mindless knitting that didn’t require beads or lace, so I’m glad I finally got past the sleeves that just wouldn’t be knit. I really just want this thing done so I can wear it. It’s so soft and warm. And we’ve actually had some legitimately cold weather lately (not just California cold), so I could really use it.

