On New Year’s Day I cast on two pairs of socks as part of the January Sockdown Challenge in the Sock Knitter’s Anonymous group on Ravelry. Basically, each month has a theme or technique, one or two chosen designers, and every other month there is a mystery knit-a-long. (A mystery knit-a-long is where the designer releases the pattern in a bunch of little “clues” and you don’t know what the finished product looks like until you finish.) Within the month, you cast on a pair of socks that either fits the theme/technique, is designed by one of the month’s chosen designers, or you participate in the mystery knit-along. Your pair must be finished within two months.

This month’s theme was flora/fauna, so patterns that had plant or animal themes. I found this theme really inspiring. I also really loved one of the designers–Caoua Coffee. So I cast on one of their patterns, which also happens to fit the flora and fauna theme.

Roosimine Socks

Roosimine Socks

The pattern is called Roosimine. I love it. I especially love the colorwork technique, which is one I’ve never used before. It’s called roositud inlay. It’s an Estonian technique, and it makes the socks look embroidered, without actually embroidering. I LOVE IT. And I’m really inspired to use this technique in some designs I have floating around my brain.

I’m knitting them out of Hazel Knits Artisan Sock in the colors Cherry Fizz and Chocolatier. (And it’s from the stash, so go me!). Hazel Knits Artisan Sock is one of my favorite sock yarns. It’s nice and smooshy with amazing stitch definition, and it wears really well.

Echeveria Socks

Echeveria Socks

The other pattern I’m knitting for the Sockdown challenge is the mystery sock. It’s called Echeveria, which is a type of plant. We’ve only gotten the first clue, and I’m almost done with it on the one sock. I should have been smarter and divided the yarn so I could work on both socks at once as I got each clue, but I didn’t, so I’ll have to put that sock on waste yarn and knit from the other end of the ball to do the other cuff. I learned something for next time! I really like the pattern so far.

I’m knitting this out of Knitpicks Stroll Tonal in the colorway Springtime (also from the stash). I have some natural Stroll yarn as well, which I’ll probably dye to be the contrasting color that the designer assures us we’ll need for later in the pattern.

I plan to work on these over the weekend and also I’m going to finish my Wispy Cardi. I only have like four inches left to go, and it has been freaking chilly here so I really, really want to wear it. I’m going to finish the darn thing this weekend.

