Saturday was a busy day for me. I went to my guild meeting in the morning, and then some of the women from my Wednesday night knitting group and I went to lunch at Versailles, which has excellent Cuban food. Then, since we were in the area, we made a quick trip over to Twist: Yarns of Intrigue.

Twist is probably my favorite yarn store, but it’s a bit far to be my local yarn store. Cathy, the owner, is really sweet and personable. She has a great selection of yarns that I love, including lots of lace and fingering weights, which are my favorite kinds of yarn to work with. (I prefer finer gauge projects). She also dyes her own yarns, which are just beautiful.

But I am in stash down mode as of the beginning of the year, so I contented myself with walking around, fondling the yarn, inhaling the yarn fumes, and flipping through some very tempting books. I was strong, I was stalwart, and I actually managed to leave the shop without purchasing anything.

I called Ron after I left to let him know that I was on my way home and also to tell him how virtuous I was for not buying anything from my favorite shop. I was especially proud because I had fallen in love with one yarn in particular. It was one of Cathy’s hand-dyed yarns–an alpaca/merino laceweight blend with a tiny bit of stellina, which gave it a little bit of sparkle. It was in a lovely purple.

As I was waxing poetic about this yarn, which was really starting to feel like perfect yarn, Ron started asking me stuff like, “So you really love this yarn?” He started telling me that it was admirable that I wanted to knit down my stash, but he still wanted me to have the things I love. I shouldn’t deny myself something that I really, really love. I said that if I was still thinking about the yarn after a few days, I would maybe go back and get it.

He was quiet for a minute. “But this yarn store is kind of far away.”

“Well, yeah, but…”

“So when would you have time? What if it’s gone by the time you get back?”

“Are you telling me to go back and get this yarn?”

“Kind of.”

I laughed and told him that he was a worse enabler than anyone in my knitting group. But I did turn around and get the yarn. 1000 yards of subtle purple sparkly alpaca/merino laceweight yarn. It’s so beautiful, I took it out of the bag and petted it on the way home.

Twist Frost Yarn

This is the perfect yarn

I feel very lucky. A lot of people who don’t knit don’t understand a knitter’s love of yarn. They don’t understand how sometimes a yarn just leaps out at you and makes your heart sing because it’s the perfect color and it feels so perfect and it’s just the perfect yarn. A lot of the knitters I know have partners or spouses who roll their eyes when they talk about yarn and treat their yarn love like it’s a little silly. It’s not that their partners are jerks, they just aren’t knitters.

Ron isn’t a knitter, but he understands and respects my yarn love. He doesn’t think it’s silly for me to go on and on about pretty yarn and he can tell in my voice if I’m talking about a yarn that falls in the category of perfect, as opposed to a yarn I just like.

I knew there was a reason I loved that man.

