Cookie A Sock Club Bag and Indigodragonfly MCN Sock Yarn

My pretties!

I came home on Monday to a very exciting package. My first shipment of yarn from the Cookie A Sock Club had arrived! The yarn is Indigodragonfly MCN Sock, a lovely Merino/Cashmere/Nylon blend in the colorway E Pluribus Nom Nom Nom (Out of Many Jars, One Cookie). That name makes me giggle every time I read it. I just love the green color and how squishy it is. And I totally adore the adorable little project bag that came with it.

One of the reasons I signed up for the sock club is that I really want to try new yarns. But I’m sort of picky about the colors I wear, which is one of the reasons I love socks. I can wear socks in any color, even if it’s a color I wouldn’t wear in shirt. This is why sock clubs are great. Since you never know what color yarn you will get with a yarn club, getting sock yarn is less of a gamble. Of course, this first shipment is right in my comfort zone. But next month, when it’s some bright, crazy orange, I’ll be happy it’s sock yarn and not laceweight or something where I’d be more likely to make something I wear up by my face.

Cookie also gives two patterns and two cookie recipes with each shipment (okay, those come as a PDF download through Ravelry, but same thing). The recipes were basically for grownup versions of Fig Newtons and Pecan Sandies. Both of them look really delicious and I can’t wait to try them.

I’m utterly torn about which sock to make. Both Ernie and Newton are fantastic patterns and I legitimately can’t decide between them. This is almost making me wish I’d sprung for the extra yarn option. I guess I’ll have to get some other pretty yarn to make the other pattern.

Otherwise, the only update I have at present is that I am on row 53 (out of 56) of the final chart of my Celestarium. I will finish that sucker tonight if it kills me. (Which it shouldn’t. I have very few beads left to place, so I’m currently just mainly doing stockinette in the round. I should be fine. As long as saying “I should be fine” does not tempt the knitting fates into trying to prove me wrong.)

