Okay, the marketplace at Stitches West is just as crazy and overwhelming as everyone says. There were fourteen aisles of booths, crammed full of yarns and fibers and notions and project bags. I worked very hard and stayed on budget, but I still got some lovely stuff. And a list of other places to look at later when I have more need for yarn. I recommend that you check out any and all of these yarns that I list here, because they are all totally gorgeous.

Lambie Toes: I’ll Be in My Bunk by Dizzy Blonde Yarns

I got some of this lovely sock yarn by Dizzy Blonde Yarns. It’s 75%/25% Superwash Merino/Nylon Blend. The colorway is “I’ll Be in My Bunk” (so yes, it is inspired by Firefly. I also got one of Laura’s patterns, Zoe, a headband and mitts, also inspired by Firefly. The yarn is quite springy and pretty and I’m a big fan. I think I may have found my yarn to make one of the patterns from my February Cookie A Yarn Club Shipment.

Taffy in Colorways Cotton Candy (pink) and Icing (blue) by Delicious Yarns

Delicious Yarns (which had an adorable booth set up like a bakery) had lovely yarns. I got two skeins of Taffy (their fingering weight). It’s 100% superwash merino. It’s a rather loosely spun two-ply, so I’ll probably use it for shawls instead of socks.

Cashmere in Winter White from Stitchsisterz

Stitchsisterz had 1000 yard balls of 100% cashmere laceweight for $25, which is a steal. I have to find the perfect shawl pattern for it.

Floating in Cafe Au Lait (cream) and Transnation Fury (coral) and Romi Hill project bag from A Verb for Keeping Warm

I bought the kit for the Romi Hill Mystery Shawl from A Verb For Keeping Warm. The yarn is Floating, an Alpaca/Silk/Cashmere blend in Fingering Weight. The kit also came with a project bag, the first clue for the shawl, and one of Romi’s shawl pins. I have been wanting some of this yarn for a while and I really, really like it. And I love Romi’s shawl designs, so I’m really excited to do this.

Aspen Sock in Morning Tea (left) and Twinkle Sock in North Sea (right)

I got some sock yarns from Western Sky Knits. The Aspen Sock is an 80/20 Superwash Merino/Nylon blend and the Twinkle is Superwash Merino, Nylon, and Stellina (so it sparkles!).

Skinny Bugga! in Pink Cardium

I finally got some Skinny Bugga! from Cephalopod Yarns. I’ve heard so much about this yarn, but I’ve never had the opportunity to get some. I’m really excited to be able to work with it. It’s a Merino/Cashmere/Nylon blend. I had trouble choosing my yarn at their booth because they had so many wonderful colors (this was actually a theme at more than one booth I visit).

Socks that Rock Lightweight in Freudian Slip

I was able to get another yarn I’ve heard a lot about, Socks that Rock from Blue Moon Fiber Arts. I got the colorway Freudian Slip. The yarn is 100% Superwash Merino.

Ballerina Laceweight in the Plum Pudding Colorway from Fiesta Yarns

Fiesta Yarns was selling some of their yarns for a large discount, so I picked up a skein of the Ballerina laceweight. It’s an alpaca/tencel blend. It’s just lovely.

Yarn Place Gentle Lace Yarn

I got some Gentle laceweight (a merino/cashmere blend) and the pattern to make Lyra from The Yarn Place. I’ve been wanting to make a Niebling pattern for a while, so I was really glad to get the pattern and yarn for this one.

Bridge of Roses Kit from Knitter’s Brewing Company. (Sockaholic Sock Yarn in Tip Jar and mini skeins in pink and green)

Knitter’s Brewing Company had kits to make the Bridge of Roses socks, so I picked up one of those. They’re such cute socks, and I’m a sucker for complicated socks. Even though no one ever sees them, it just makes me happy to know they’re on my feet.

Valley Yarns Northampton Sport in Dark Green Heather

There was an amazing deal on Valley Yarns Northampton Sport at the Webs Booth. I was able to get an entire sweater’s worth of yarn for less than fifty dollars. I’m pretty sure it’s going to be a Gnarled Oak Cardigan.

Zauberball

Mini Mochi in Babyface colorway

I got a Zauberball and some Mini Mochi from the Yarn Barn of Kansas. They were really nice there; even though they were really busy, they held some books for me (I also picked up a copy of Heirloom Knitting Little Red in the City) and answered all my questions.

In addition to all the places I bought yarn from, I made a list of other companies I loved, that I will definitely buy from in the future: Miss Babs, Anzula Yarns, Oink Pigments, Wild Orchid Fiber Arts, RedFish DyeWorks, Becoming Art Yarns, Neighborhood Fiber Company, Lisa Souza, Claudia Hand Painted Yarns, and Faerie Mountain Fibers. And honestly, I’m probably forgetting some, because the Stitches Marketplace is so huge and everyone in it is so wonderful. The vendors I listed are just the ones that stuck in my head amidst all of the beauty.

If you ever can get to a Stitches event, I really recommend it. I already covered how amazing my classes were, but even without going to classes, the ten or fifteen dollars to get into the marketplace is worth it. I got exposed to all kinds of yarns I’d never seen before. Even the ones I didn’t buy really inspired me, and I have a lot of ideas for new projects.

