Craftcation Goal Board

I have more than one goal on this board.

I just returned from the absolutely amazing Craftcation Conference, a conference geared towards owners of small craft businesses. It’s really amazing and inspiring. I went last year and it was fantastic, and this year was even better. The conference is full of the most inspiring, genuine, and generous people who are so willing to share their expertise. The teachers are fantastic, but I also learned so much just from getting to talk to other attendees.

I sometimes get really shy about networking and talking about what I do and what I want to do. Last year, I think I had a lot of trouble networking. I came out of Craftcation feeling really energized, but not really focused, and without anyone to reach out to for help. This year, however, I really pushed myself, and consequently, I got so much more out of it! I learned so much, both about running a craft business and crafting in general.

1. I learned how to make a needle-felted sheep. I remembered that I really like needle-felting, and I should do it more.

A needle-felted sheep from Craftcation

Cuteness abounded in the needle-felting class with Angharad Jones.

2. I learned how to sew a polka dot clutch bag, with a lining and a zipper!

Polka Dot Clutch Bag from Craftcation

I love this aesthetic. Thanks, Mimi G!

3. I learned that I can’t sew jersey. Yet. (That was a challenging class for me. I’m now determined to work on it.)

This was supposed to be a shirt

Despite the best efforts of Nicole Blum and helpers from Bernina, I could not get the hang of this.

4. In that same disastrous sewing class, I learned that rotary cutters are sharp! (No picture here, because you don’t really want to see my cut, right? But don’t worry, there’s no permanent damage.)

5. I learned that thyme is actually an excellent flavoring in ice cream.

Eggs and Thyme really do make good ice cream!  I promise.  Craftcation taught me so!

Ingredients from my ice cream class with Nicole Stevenson and Seth Stanton.

6. I learned so much about SEO, wordpress, branding, pattern-writing, next business steps to take, and publishing, you would not believe it. I attended several classes about running a craft business, and they were great. I feel much more focused and less stupid than last year.

Notes from Craftcation

I took these notes in one of Sé Reed’s classes. I also got lots more great information in classes and panels with Tiffany Han, Steph Calvert, Melanie Falick, Kari Chapin, Kayte Terry, Lisa Tauber, Megan Anderson (Radmegan), Rosalie Gale, Cathy Callahan, Anne Kuo Likito, and Sarah James.

7. I learned that a run on the beach is a really awesome end to the day.

The view at Craftcation is amazing!

This was my view like all the time!

8. I learned that embracing my weird is the best way to be happy. People think I’m funny and smart and that I have good ideas, just the way I am. Right now. This is really hard for me, because I have spent so much time around toxic, toxic people who delighted in being awful to me. In fact part of the reason I started this blog was to help me remember what I love and what makes me happy.

I’m so very, very excited about the coming year. Things are afoot. I know what makes me happy and now I just need to pursue it with all of my heart. But I’m going to set aside a portion of time every day to work on my craft, my business, and what makes me happy.

And, to be honest, you should to. What makes you happy? What do you wish you had more time for? Will you commit to spending some time being happy, doing what you love, every day? Tell me in the comments!

