Yarn Crawl Haul

The spoils! It’s a veritable cornucopia of yarn!

Last weekend was Yarn Crawl LA, an event where thirty-some-odd stores in the Los Angeles area have events and specials and all the yarn lovers drive around like crazy visiting them. You get a passport and each store you visit stamps it. It’s a really fun excuse to visit stores that you don’t normally go to and see what they have. In fact, except for my local yarn store and one other, every store I went to this weekend was new to me. That was sort of my goal this weekend–to get to new places and find new yarns that I don’t normally see every day at my local store. I tried to avoid getting the same old stuff I could get anywhere.

I didn’t do any crawling on Thursday, because I had to work and then I had rehearsal for my music gig. On Friday after work, I went to my local store (Alamitos Bay) to pick up my passport and tote bag. They had some brand new yarn I’d never worked with, some Zen Garden. So bought a few skeins of that, because I love finding new yarns. The Yarnover Truck also happened to be there that day.

The Yarnover Truck is relatively new (I think they just had their launch party in March), but it’s really cool. It’s like a food truck, but for yarn. I got some Anzula Yarn there, which is something I’d seen at Stitches West, but not been able to purchase. That was about all the crawling I got done, because I was not about to drive all over creation in Friday rush hour traffic.

Saturday morning, I got up and ran a 5k. After breakfast and a shower, I met up with my friend Melissa. We hit seven stores on Saturday. First we went to L’Atelier, which has really nice yarn, but tends more toward novelty stuff than I tend to knit with, so I didn’t buy anything, but it was nice to look at. Then we went to Twist Yarns of Intrigue, which is the only store besides Alamitos Bay that I’d been to. I got some really nice Freia Handpaints Ombre Yarn there, which is something I’ve never used before.

Then we hit Needlepoints West, which had a lot of embroidery supplies as well as yarn. I didn’t get anything, but Melissa got a cute project bag. Then we hit Wildfiber, Compatto, and Jennifer Knits in rapid succession. I picked up some Tosh Pashmina Worsted at one of them. I got three colors that I never would have normally thought went together, but I liked how they looked. I’m going to make something fabulous. That’s really what I tried to do on the crawl–buy things that are a little bit new and different for me.

Our last stop of the day was the Yarn Garden, where Dizzy Blonde Yarns was having a trunk show. I really love her stuff, so I got another skein of sock yarn, plus some Oink Pigments yarn. (Oink is another yarn brand I saw at Stitches West that I didn’t buy then, so it was nice to get some now). We were exhausted, so we had burgers and fries at a faux fifties diner and called it a day. (Except not really, because I went and rehearsed for a music gig. Boy was that a tiring night).

Sunday, we hit a bunch of stores I’d never been to. We went to ten stores. We started at Colors 91711, which was lovely. I got some Fibre Company yarn and Melissa and I got matching Yarn Crawl Celebratory Headbands. (They were really just flowered headbands that the store just happened to sell. We just decreed that they were our Yarn Crawl Celebratory Headbands). Then we hit up the Bourgee Boutique, Phebie’s NeedleArt, A Stitch In Time (where I got some Dream In Color Groovy yarn–it’s lovely stuff and you know I’m not lying because I don’t normally work with bulky yarns), Abuelita’s Knitting and Needlepoint, and Unwind. At Unwind, Melissa found some lovely, eye-burningly bright neon yarn, which made her really happy. I’m excited to see what she makes with it.

We took a break for lunch at Porto’s, which is one of my favorite places to eat. Then, fortified by Cuban Sandwiches, we proceeded. We went to Sit and Stitch and then to the The Stitch Cafe, which was a really fun stop. They sell the Delicious Yarns there, so I bought some more of that (I had gotten some at Stitches as well). And the women in the shop were very personable and very entertained by Melissa and me. Then we made our last two stops at A Major Knitwork and one more place. A Major Knitwork was a nice store with a lot of really nice yarn (they had a particularly good selection of Dream in Color Yarns) and a friendly staff.

The other store had a big selection of really beautiful yarn. But they insulted me, which is why I’m not linking or naming them. I don’t want to end on a sour note or tell mean stories, so I’ll just say that it’s not really nice to be rude to customers about their yarn choices.

After all that, Melissa and I were dead tired. So we went and had fruity drinks with umbrellas in them. But all in all, it was a very successful crawl. I made some connections, saw a lot of new stores, got a lot of new yarns, and got a lot of inspiration for upcoming projects. And spent three days with a good friend. Not too shabby of a weekend.

