Shave Ice

Perfect Stress Relief

It has been a ridiculously difficult week at work. Like, stupidly hard and frustrating. I’ve been trying really hard to not let it get me down. But today…oh today, it was really difficult to just not give up. My boss and everyone in my department is really feeling the strain of this busy time.

It’s also a kind of employee appreciation week this week and so each day there has been something fun and special going on. One day we got breakfast, one day there was a health fair, one day they got the Kogi Truck to come for lunch. These things have been the one bright spot of each day this week. And today, we got Hawaiian Shave Ice. I don’t know if you’ve ever had it, but it’s amazing.

It’s kind of like a snow cone, but better, because the ice is fluffier and smaller. Plus, they have way better syrup flavors than when I used to get snow cones as a kid. There is guava and mango and orange-pineapple syrup. It’s topped with condensed coconut milk, which is really, really good. But my favorite part is that beneath the fluffy, snowy goodness, there is a scoop of vanilla ice cream. It is amazing.

So, as I sat outside in the gorgeous spring weather, with a breeze blowing on me and the flowers blooming (it is such a pretty day today), eating my cherry and coconut shave ice, I thought to myself that today wasn’t so bad. It’s beautiful out. I have ice cream and sugar and fluffy ice. Things could be a lot worse.

My good mood was ruined ten minutes later when I realized that there was no way I was getting out of here on time today, and I get to work on the weekend (yay!). But for ten sweet minutes, I felt very relaxed and at peace.

And seriously, shave ice is delicious. Go get some if they have it anywhere around you.

